Review: Black Magic Sanction by Kim Harrison

Black Magic Sanction, the 8th installment of Kim Harrison’s Hollows series, is an action packed thrill ride. The witches’ ruling coven who shunned Rachel Morgan, a witch with the ability to kindle demon magic due to a childhood illness, decides to get rid of her any way possible. The attacks put Rachel’s friends and partners in danger. To make matters worse, Trent Kalamack offers to help her as long as she signs a contract to work for him–forever. As the student of the demon Algaliarept, Rachel is becoming more easy with twisting curses. With the help of Ivy, Jenks and his brood of pixies, Glenn, the former ghost Pierce, Al, the witch Lee (who can also kindle demon magic), and even her ex-boyfriend Nick, Rachel fights for survival and tries to find a way for everyone to just leave her alone.

I absolutely loved Black Magic Sanction. It may be my favorite of the series. There were so many developments, not all good–I even cried at one point. The cast of characters are always growing and becoming more complex. No one is completely good or evil. Rachel is learning to trust, forgive, and not judge so quickly, everything is not black and white. Al plays a big part in the novel, giving deeper insight into his character. I really like Al now, even though he is a demon who tries to snatch people to sell in the ever-after. Rachel even tries to learn why (and if she should) she distrust Trent, my favorite character of the series.

The ending was perfect. It showed how much Rachel has grown. I cannot wait until the next in the series to see the interaction between the characters now that Rachel is learning to trust and understands others (namely Al and Trent) more.

For those new to the series, and have the first, Dead Witch Walking, available for free as an ebook. Kim Harrison also writes the Madison Avery young adult series. The first, Once Dead, Twice Shy, has already been published with the second, Early to Death, Early to Rise, coming out May 25th. Under the name Dawn Cook, she writes the Truth series (the first two have lovely new covers), beginning with First Truth, and Princess series, beginning with The Decoy Princess, both of which I highly recommend.

I’ve been to three of Kim Harrison’s author signings. If you ever get a chance to attend one, you’ll have a great time. Kim Harrison is an extremely nice and funny lady. Plus you’ll get some goodies, too, maybe even a t-shirt. Last year she gave away tomato seeds (with the Angel name to tie into the series).


Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: