What to Read Next…

I have an extensive TBR pile of books. When I finish a book and it is not part of a series or I don’t have a new release that I have been waiting for, I find myself standing in front of my bookshelf that holds the books I haven’t read yet. I’ll go through every book, pulling them forward to see the ones behind them. Once I have looked at them all, wondering why nothing stands out and shouts “READ ME!” and debating whether I feel like re-reading a book instead, I start reading the backs of various books and flipping through to read random pages. I know that when I bought them they sounded interesting but at that moment nothing looks good. The sad thing is, I usually like everything I read. I just need to actually read a few pages to get interested.

So one one of these occasions, I pulled out several books I bought a few years ago when my local Bookstop closed and had 60% off books. I went to Amazon.com to look up the reviews to decide which I would read first. They all had good reviews, but since four of the books were the first two books out of different trilogies, I decided to read the stand alone book, The Golden Hills of Westria.

The Golden Hills of Westria by Diana L. Paxson was brilliant. I feel like kicking myself everytime I finally get around to reading a book I’ve had for years and then find that I loved it. The characters were sympathetic, Johan in particular. The battle and problems of his fractured psyche kept me reading late in the night. Tragic protagonists have a special place in my heart. I love it when fantasy books depict tolerant societies. The characters visit several different cultures and climes, each a distinct civilization.

I was disappointed to learn that all of Paxson’s other novels are out of print. She does have the first couple of chapters for the sequel to Golden Hills on her website. I look forward to reading anything else she publishes and hopefully her previous novels will be reprinted or I might have to resort to buying them used.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

